The story of 2022 so far...

The story of 2022 so far...

28 July 2022

Incredibly, Trackday Trophy’s twelfth consecutive season is past the halfway point! It’s been a fantastic year so far, with a vast amount of gripping racing action on display at each of the four rounds. Join us in taking a look back at the story of 2022 so far…

The prestigious Silverstone played host to the opening round of the season back in April, when a packed, 40-strong grid lined up to take the first start of the year. Qualifying was dominated by families racing in TDT, with EST Performance’s Read duo claiming the first Class B pole position of the year and TJS Racing’s Seckel pairing taking Class C pole. Boreham Motorsport’s (Midlands) combination of Martyn and Rob Adams completed this trend by securing Class D pole. A hugely competitive race followed, with the first top step of the season going the way of Unique Racing! The team battled hard from fourth on the grid to take victory, with polesitters EST Performance having to settle for second in class. EST Performance’s sister #114 car mustered third on the class podium, meaning they joined their #148 car in receiving trophies. JPRacing impressively topped Class C, despite it being co-driver Pascall’s third ever race! GS Racing and DP Service Racing rounded out the C podium with solid drives apiece. The first grand slam of TDT 2022 went the way of a dominant Rob and Martyn Adams in Class D, with the pair finishing ahead of Jak Fuller and Boreham Motorsport’s Jack Hargraves.

After the thrilling opener, attention then turned to Lincolnshire and Cadwell Park for the second round of the year. Dubshack Motorsport ruled the early morning qualifying session, topping the Class C and overall timing sheets by over a second! An equally impressive qualifying performance from BC Cars Motorsport secured pole in Class D, while Semprini Racing would line up first in Class B in their Honda Civic. Throughout the race there was plenty of jostling for position to entertain the crowd, but up front Dubshack’s Rawlings/Zakrzewski capitalised on their strong pace to romp home in first. DP Service Racing matched their strong qualifying performance to take home second in C, while Aindale Racing earned their first trophy of the year to round out the podium. EST Performance continued their stellar start to the year by again finishing with two cars on the Class B podium, with Alex Read claiming the top step. Hobson Racing split the two EST cars, finishing in second. Scuderia Dave’s shrewd race management was rewarded with the top step in Class D, with polesitter Brian Chandler finishing in second ahead of the ever-present Boreham Adams duo.

Following Cadwell Park, TDT returned to Wales for only the second time in its history. The stunning Anglesey Coastal circuit hosted some top racing action, starting immediately in qualifying. Cadwell’s victors Dubshack Motorsport were pipped to pole by DP Service Racing, while Hobson Racing and Boreham Motorsport (Midlands) headed the C and D fields. Aided by a quick launch away from the grid and some perfectly executed race strategy, Dubshack’s Rawlings/Zakrzewski duo stormed their way to a second consecutive victory. DP Service Racing’s consistently quick pace was rewarded with second, while a solid effort from Aindale Racing meant the Class C podium at Anglesey was an exact repeat of the Cadwell Park one pervious. Hobson Racing didn’t put a foot wrong and were rewarded with the top step of Class B, ahead of a surging Wide Boy Racing and MS Motorsport. Boreham Motorsport (Midlands) expertly converted their D pole to class victory, making it two for the season for them. Scuderia Dave again joined Boreham Motorsport (Midlands) on the D podium, with Merrills Motorsport earning their first trophy of the year in third.

The fourth and latest round of 2022 saw us head east to Snetterton’s 300 circuit. A stalwart on the TDT calendar, Snetterton has produced some memorable drives over the years and this year it was the turn of Turn 7’s Callum McDougall. Having edged Se7en Motorsport to Class B pole position, Turn 7’s Caterham put in a commanding performance to earn victory in their first TDT race of 2022. Constant battling throughout the rest of the pack was the theme of the race and it was Semprini Racing and Se7en Motorsport who earned their first Class B podiums of the year, in second and third respectively. Just 0.341secs separated the top two in Class C, with Dubshack Motorsport eventually edging JPRacing to the top step. Aindale Racing returned to the podium for another trophy to add to their collection. A highly impressive performance from Colin Wells earned the driver his first visit to the D podium in 2022, surging to the win after qualifying fifth in class. Boreham Motorsport’s Jack Hargraves and JZ Racing’s Coombs duo rounded out the D podium – both putting in some expert maneuvers in the process.

There are still three more rounds to come this year; two trips to the historic Brands Hatch and one to the challenging Donington Park GP circuit. We cannot wait to see what these remaining races bring!