Our Anglesey Race Report!

Our Anglesey Race Report!

07 June 2022

The Welsh sun beamed favorably down on Anglesey’s Trac Môn circuit, as a 30-strong Trackday Trophy grid battled it out across an exciting day of action.

For many, the qualifying session marked the first competitive laps that the drivers had completed at the circuit, but you wouldn’t have been able to tell with the times being set.

Cadwell Park’s victorious duo of Rawlings/Zakrzewski flew out of the blocks to set the early pace in their BMW E36, before Damian Chrupczalski posted a rapid lap time of 1:18:680 to secure pole position for DP Service Racing. Rawlings/Zakrzewski would have to settle for second on the grid, ahead of Wayne Cockerill and Gareth Sockett. Elsewhere, Sarah Hobson secured Class B pole position, ahead of Hibberd/Marsh and Howard Hunt. The Boreham Motorsport (Midlands) duo of Martyn and Rob Adams would start first in Class D, ahead of Connell/Nolan and Merrills/O’Hare.

A strong launch off the line and mega opening lap saw Rawlings/Zakrzewski take the lead by the end of lap one, ahead of polesitter Chrupczalski and a fast-starting Hibberd/Marsh. As the race developed, Dubshack Motorsport’s Rawlings/Zakrzewski extended their lead at the front and they began to control the pace of the race from there. In fact, other than a short period of time post-pit stop, Dubshack Motorsport lead every lap until the checkered flag, resulting in their second consecutive win. Damian Chrupczlaski’s strong pace throughout the event was rewarded with second place, while Wayne Cockerill claimed third in Class C for the second round in a row.

A storming drive through the field by Sarah Hobson clinched the Class B top step, along with a class grand slam – pole position, race win and fastest lap! Fantastic battling through the field saw Wide Boy Racing’s Howard Hunt finish second in class B, having started 15th overall on the grid. MS Motorsport’s duo of Hibberd/Marsh lost ground after their fantastic start, but still managed to bring their BMW Mini home third in class.

There was almost a second Class D grand slam for Martyn and Rob Adams in 2022, after they converted their pole position to the race win, although the fastest lap in class went the way of Scuderia Dave’s Connell/Nolan pairing – who finished less than one second behind the Adams duo! Merrills Motorsport occupied the final step of the D podium, meaning all three of the fastest qualifiers in Class D finished top three in the race.

After two entertaining Trackday Trophy rounds in quick succession, the series now takes a short break until we reconvene at Snetterton in early July, for round number four.

See you there!