'Reade' the race report from the 2019 season finale



'Reade' the race report from the 2019 season finale

Although not fastest in the session, the fastest of the classed cars was Luke Reade in the Graves Motorsport 1 series BMW, taking pole from Class B rival Will Heslop and Paul McHugh by just two tenths of a second. Third in Class B was David Traviss in the MSDT Race Developments Celica. The Class B cars, were split by the Class C challenger G&M Motors, with the team of Sam Gay and Mike Bushell taking a Class C pole and splitting up to the top three Class B cars. Class D pole went to series returnee Ray Worley in the Boreham Motorsport MX5 ahead of USBSport’s Blair Craig and Green Star Supatune in second and third respectively. Fastest Novice open car was the Mini of Robert Jones, with PVL Racing’s Nick Broom and Lewis Gatt taking second in the Clio, ahead of Julian Hamer’s Mini.

When the lights went out, a good start from the Revo Works Honda Civic saw them jump the BMW 1 series of Luke Reade over the opening lap, with the pair trading lap times but the Revo Civic ultimately staying in front. This was the way they stayed, until the Civic retired half way through the first stint of the race at druids corner. With the Civic now out of the race, Reade in the BMW could enjoy a comfortable class lead, focusing on the guest classed cars ahead, while the Celica of Traviss looked to close the gap from what was now second place.  

Behind the lead Class B pair was the Class C leaders of Gay and Bushell. With an early lead over Class C rival Stewart Donovan in the Celica, the pair were able to mix it up once again with the Class B contenders. This was a strategy that ultimately back fired however, as the Civic of Gay and Bushell battled the Class B Celica of David Traviss, Donovan was able to close the gap, and temporarily pass the Class C leader. This was short lived as Gay and Bushell retook the lead just one lap later. Just behind and sat in fourth in Class C was the Porsche of Paul Simpson who was slowly closing the gap. As the pit stop window opened it was the Civic of Gay and Bushell in a narrow lead over Donovan second and Simpson now a close third.

In Class D the fast starting Ray Worley in the MX5 held the class lead through the early stages of the race. Just behind, the BMW of Max Walton was able to hold off the Honda of Harry and Ben Corby who were third in class, but only just ahead of the Peugeot 205 of Blair Craig. With the Corby’s and Crag battling for position, Walton was able to build a slight gap and focus on catching Worley for the class lead, which he almost managed to do as Worley had his own dramas and a slow lap put the MX5 right in the sights of Walton’s BMW. It wasn’t to be though and when the pit stops started it was Worley who held the lead as the opening half of the race drew to an end.

With the dust settling from the pit stop window, it was Reade in the BMW 1 series who remained the lead classed car, ahead of the MSDT Car of David Traviss. Despite Traviss putting in some very competitive lap times, the gap to Reade was too large, and when the flag came down it was Reade who look the Class lead.

Class C saw the Honda of Gay and Bushell extend their lead, as the cars of Paul Simpson and Stewart Donovan battled for second. This was a battle that was temporarily won by Simpson’s Porsche, until a moment with three laps to go caused Simpson to drop back from second in class to fourth, losing out to Donovan Celica, and Oliver Owen in the Clio. When the flag dropped, it was Gay and Bushell who won the class in the Honda, followed by Donovan and Owen who held third. A comfortable Class D win went to Ray Worley on the MX5, ahead of Blair Craig in second who with some stellar laps and good pit stop strategy had managed to jump not only Ben and Harry Corbey in the Honda, but also Max Waltons BMW. Walton held on for third in class, while Harry and Ben Corbey had to settle for fourth.


Class B
1. Graves Motorsport - Luke Reade
2. MSDT Race Developments - David Traviss

Class C
1. G&M Motorsport - Sam Gay & Mike Bushell
2. Se7en Motorsport - Stewart Donovan
3. OllySport - Oliver Owen

Class D
1. Boreham Motorsport - Ray Worley
2. USBSport - Blair Craig
3. TORO GT - Max Walton

Novice Class
1. Square Foot Racing - Robert Jones
2. PVL Racing - Nick Broom & Lewis Gatt
3. Hamer Time Motorsport - Julian Hamer

Fastest lap - Graves Motorsport - 54.228

Contact Details
Tel: 0843 453 3000*

*Calls to 0843 453 3000 are charged at 7 pence per minute plus your phone company's access charge.