SBD win in norfolk

Read the race report from the Snetterton round

  • SBD win in norfolk

SBD win in norfolk

Read the race report from the Snetterton round

Lightning struck twice in qualifying, with the Apple Car Centre Renault Clio taking pole and the top spot in Class B for the second event running. SBD Motorsport took second in what regulars will recognise as the Big Skidz Racing Team Fiesta, with Team Norfolk rounding out the top three in Class B. Tucker Motorsport took the Class C “pole” with third overall, ahead of the Nick White Racing Clio and Paul Hatton’s Ford Focus in third in Class C. Class D was led by Colin Tester in the Supatune Puma, with Cooper Motorsport and Boreham Motorsport in second and third respectively. Novice Class was largely dominated by the MAC Racing Civic of Stephen McDonald, Robert Jones took second in class in the Square Foot Racing Mini, with the team of Nick Broom and Lewis Gatt in the PVL Racing Clio taking third.

When the lights went out, a brilliant start from the Tucker Lotus in third saw it jump the front row and take the lead before the first corner. The fast starting George Wright in the Air Supply Porsche was also able to jump up through the field to third over the line on the opening lap. This was to be short lived however with a trip across the grass at Coram relegating the Porsche down through the field. The pace setters in qualifying then set their sights on the leading Lotus, with the Fiesta of SBD Motorsport able to claim the lead on lap six, and the Honeybone Clio following them through for second as the pit window opened. Class C stayed much how it started through the opening phase of the race. With Nick White Racing able to gap the pack fighting for third. The Phat Racing Ford Focus and the CM Racing Clio fought hard, trading lap times until the latter came under mounting pressure from the leading Novice Class Car of MAC Racing’s McDonald causing the CM Racing Clio to defend and drop back from the Focus towards the pit stop window.

The Class D battle was once again fierce, with three different leaders in the first three laps. Class pole sitter was first over the line, with the Butterworth pair of GCB Racing and Cooper in the Cooper Motorsport chasing hard. The effort paid off and the GCB Racing Clio found a way past the Puma to take the lead, followed through by the Cooper Fiesta. Cooper still pushing hard was able to claim the lead in class just one lap later, this was a lead he held until the pit window, as a recovering Supatune Puma caught and eventually passed the GCB Racing Clio for second in class.

Once the dust had settled from the pit window, It was the Apple Car Centre Clio who emerged in the lead, ahead of the SBD Motorsport Fiesta. Just behind the lead pair the fight for third was on with the FTP Motorsport Caterham just ahead of the Team Norfolk Clio. The battle for third raged on until the Norfolk Clio finally found a way past with two laps to go. This proved to be pivotal as a penalty for the race leader Apple Car Centre promoted this to the battle for second over the line. SBD Motorsport rewarded for their excellent effort with a race win. In Class C the battle for the lead was on, Nick White Racing in the Clio and Phat Racing’s Ford Focus were trading lap times, It wasn’t to be for Hatton however as despite maintaining the gap he was unable to challenge Whites Clio who took the win just ahead of Hatton’s Focus. Third in class was claimed by CM Racings Cameron Mclean who overtook the early leading Tucker Motorsport Lotus who was suffering from technical gremlins. Further down the field, the Class D competitors traded places, as the then leading Cooper Motorsport headed into the pits. The hard chasing Supatune Puma took a commanding lead from this point onwards to take the class win, and despite a late push from Cooper in the Fiesta he was only able to catch and not pass the Boreham Motorsport MX5 of Martyn and Robert Adams who held on for second in class on the last lap, Cooper having to settle for third in class. The Novice Class win was taken by Square Foot Racings Robert Jones who managed to keep out of trouble while his competition both retired with three laps to go due to technical issues.


Class B
1. SBD Motorsport - Craig Sampson & Kester Cook
2. Team Norfolk - Jonathan Howes & Kevin Stirling
3. FTP Motorsport - Chris Payne

Class C
1. Nick White Racing - Nick White
2. PHat Racing - Paul Hatton
3. CM Racing - Cameron McLean

Class D
1. Supatune Motorsport - Colin Tester
2. Boreham Motorsport - Martyn Adams & Robert Adams
3. Cooper Motorsport - Gary Cooper

Novice Class
1. Square Foot Racing - Robert Jones

Stephen Brown Memorial Trophy:
Square Foot Racing - Robert Jones

Fastest lap - Race Team - 1:24.714

Contact Details
Tel: 0843 453 3000*

*Calls to 0843 453 3000 are charged at 7 pence per minute plus your phone company's access charge.