Apple Car Centre Parties in the Park

Read the Race Report from Cadwell Park

  • Apple Car Centre Parties in the Park

Apple Car Centre Parties in the Park

Read the Race Report from Cadwell Park

Going into qualifying the fight for the top spot was wide open, with eight of the top ten from Donington Park missing or in different vehicles for the Cadwell Park campaign. On a damp circuit in changeable conditions, it was the Class B Renault Clio of Apple Car Centre’s Ray Honeybone that took pole, just three tenths of a second from Class D leader and second overall the Mini of Box Fast racing at the hands of Gary Bradbury and Chris White. Confirming the difficult track conditions, was third on the grid and Class C pole sitter was the CM Racing Clio of Cameron McLean. The jumbled grid continued with Blair Craig of USB Sport taking second in Class D and fourth overall, and Alex Boam in the Boamerang Fiesta coming in fifth, and second in Class C. The Novice Open Class was headed up by Ben Crowther in the Creative Racing Clio ahead of Novice competitor John Clarke in the JC Motorsport Proton.

As the lights went out it was the Apple Car Centre Clio who got off the line best, leaving the Box Fast Mini to battle with CM Racing’s Mclean into turn one. This was a battle the Mini would ultimately lose, having to concede to not just the CM Racing Clio but also the Pro-Tect BMW of Mennie and Gunn-Carter over the course of the first lap. A good launch off the line from the Air Supply Porsche saw the Hogg and Wright driven car climb from tenth to fifth in the early stages, also finally passing the Class D leaders to maintain a strong fourth place. The car on the move was the Boamerang Fiesta though, having bogged down from the start and now having to fight back through the field. Boam, now on a mission was able to recover to fifth in the early stages before starting to chase down the Porsche of Team Air Supply. The Renault Clio in the hands of Novice, Ben Crowther continued to hold first in class, with John Clarke in the JC Motorsport Proton recovering after a slight excursion from the circuit.

As the pit stop window neared the Boam Fiesta saw it’s opportunity and having followed the Air Supply Porsche for the lap, jumped up the inside at the hairpin to snatch fourth place. Drama ensued shortly after this in Class D, with technical gremlins causing the USB Sport 205 GTi of Blair Craig  to retire just before the first cars came into the pits.

First to make an early pit stop was the Guest Classed Steel City MX5 of Robert Greensmith. Greensmith was quickly followed in by the Box Fast Mini from the Class D lead, and fellow Class D front runner Kev bird in the sister Steel City MX5. With the pack now fairly spread out the pit stops seemed a formality. A late stop from the leader Apple Car Centre confirmed the case, only an inspired stop from the Hobson Racing allowing them to jump the Mini Motorsport team for third in Class C. mini Motorsport pair of Gardin and Smitheram pushed hard tho, managing to not only close the gap to Hobson in the Celia but to make the move for the final podium place in Class C, with just eight laps to go.

When the chequered flag came down then, it was Honeybone in the  Apple Car Centre Clio over the line to take the win, followed by CM Racing’s Cameron McLean for first in Class C and second on the road. James Gunn-Carter and David Mennie in the Pro-Tect BMW took second in Class B and the Air Supply pair of Simon Hogg and George Wright rounded out the Class B podium with a third in Class. Coming home second in Class C was the Boamerang Fiesta of Alex Boam, with Mini Motorsport able to hold onto the third place in class from Sarah Hobson in Hobson Racing who had to settle for fourth in class. In Class D it was the Box Fast Mini of Bradbury and White who made it a lights to flag Class D win, ahead of the MX5 of Kev Bird and the MX5 of Robert Adams and Martyn Adams who took second and third respectively. Novice Open driver, Ben Crowther, for Creative Racing managed to best his Donington second place, taking the Novice Class top spot ahead of second in class, John Clarke of JC Motorsport.


Class B
1. Apple Car Centre - Ray Honeybone
2. Pro-Tect Motorsport James Gunn-Carter & Mennie
3. AirSupply - George Wright & Simon Hogg

Class C
1. CM Racing - Cameron Mclean
2. Boamerang Racing - Alex Boam
3. Mini Motorsport - Hannah Gardin & David Smitheram

Class D
1. Box Fast Racing - Gary Bradbury & Chris White
2. SG Motorsport w/ Steel City MX5 - Kev Bird
3. Boreham Motorsport - Adam & Adams

Novice Class
1. Creative Racing - Ben Crowther
2. JC Motorsport - John Clarke

Stephen Brown Memorial Trophy:
Air Supply - Simon Hogg & George Wright

Fastest lap - Pro-Tect Motorsport - 1:42.858

Contact Details
Tel: 0843 453 3000*

*Calls to 0843 453 3000 are charged at 7 pence per minute plus your phone company's access charge.