Nicks Whitewash at Brands Hatch

Next event

Live Timing: Not Active

Nicks Whitewash at Brands Hatch

Nick White Racing wins in the wet at Brands

Mon 12 November 2018

Pole position for the 2018 Trackday Trophy season finale would go to Keith Issatt and Kevin Fulbrook in their Class B SRR Motorsport Mini Cooper S; clinching pole by less than a second ahead of Class C competitor Nick White in his Renault Clio and John Lyne in the Class B Tylah Motorsport BMW E36 with all three teams leaving it until the end of the session to set their fastest times.

The exchange of lap times for the Class D pole was equally close with all eyes on the timing screens as the SGR Racing pairing of Steven Kelly and Shaun Haddrell secured the class pole by just four thousandths of a second ahead of Ronan Quinn in his Ford Fiesta and Rob Burnham in the Supatune Ford Puma.

Thomas Seckel in the TJS Racing Honda Integra proved the quickest of the Novice Open entries in qualifying and would start from seventh on the grid ahead of fellow Class N competitors Chris Mayhew in the RC Racing Renault Clio and Jamie Ward in the KLJ Motorsport Ford Fiesta.

With a full grid of 34 cars poised to take the start there was an anxious energy on the grid however that soon disappeared as drivers eyes began to focus on the start line gantry, engine notes raising this was the start of the 2018 Trackday Trophy season finale!

An unfortunate ‘slide’ through paddock by the SRR Motorsport MINI Cooper would see the car falling back down through the order and ultimately retire from the race on the opening lap, promoting Nick White Racing to race leader.

Jamie Ward was quickly up to speed and making his way through the field following a great start and was soon up into eleventh place having started nineteenth on the grid, eyes firmly set on the Class N pole man Thomas Seckle who was busy holding position as the field made their way through Paddock Hill Bend and up to the Druids hairpin.

Alan Lyne in the Tylah Motorsport Renault Clio was another driver gaining ground from the start, passing the Piranha Porsche of Chris Campbell and Chris Bialan on his way up to seventeenth from twenty second over the course of the opening lap.

David Abbitt and Hayden McDonald were determined to begin closing the gap to the rest of Class D in their Abbitt Motorsport Mazda MX5 and set about making their way through the field; joined by fellow Class D competitor Roshen Singh in the Oscar Mike BMW. The pair of Class D cars making up four places apiece from the start!

Despite starting on the seventeenth row, a fantastic start by Alan Cherry and Philip Shed in the Wilmington Rennsport BMW 330Ci saw them pass between two cars starting on the row ahead before proceeding to take the inside line into paddock, passing the Triple L Motorsport Mazda MX5 before tucking in behind the BMW of Roshen Singh.

The opening of the pit-stop window saw the Brands Hatch pit lane become a flurry of activity as teams and drivers prepared to receive their cars for the mandatory stops and driver changes.

A relieved Nick White would return to the race lead following his stop with a comfortable gap between him and second place; a gap he would maintain until the end of the race taking the chequered flag for the Class C and overall race wins. Brychta would bring the Big Bear Motorsport Ibiza home second overall but at the top of Class B. Dean Hyde in the Tylah Motorsport BMW E30 would follow the Ibiza across the line for third overall and second in Class C.

G&M Motorsports Sam Gay completed the Class C podium brining the Honda Civic across the line fourth overall. John Lyne in The Tylah Motorsport BMW E36, although out of touch with the class leader would settle for second in Class B with David Williams completing the class podium in the Blackjack Motorsport Peugeot 206.

Jamie Ward took the top spot in the Novice Open class, the KJL Motorsport Fiesta crossing the line ahead of RC Racings Chris Mayhew and class pole sitter Thomas Seckel in the TJS Racing Integra.


Class B

1. Big Bear Motorsport - Dylan Brychta
2. Tylah Motorsport - John Lyne
3. Blackjack Motorsport - David Williams 

Class C

1. Nick White Racing - Nick White
2. Tylah Motorsport - Dean Hyde
3. G&M Motorsport - Sam Gay

Class D

1. Ronan Quinn Racing - Ronan Quinn
2. Supatune - Rob Burnham
3. Abbitt Motorsport - Dave Abbitt & Hayden McDonald

Novice Open

1. KJL Motorsport - Jamie Ward
2. RC Racing - Chris Mayhew
3. TJS Racing - Thomas Seckel

Fastest Lap

Tylah Motorsport - John Lyne 56.177

Contact Details

Tel: 0843 453 3000*

*Calls to 0843 453 3000 are charged at 7 pence per minute
plus your phone company's access charge.