SW Motorsports Win in the Wolds

Next event

Live Timing: Not Active

SW Motorsports Win in the Wolds

Buky and Higginson take the win at Cadwell Park.

Mon 17 September 2018

Qualifying in the Lincolnshire Wolds was a mixed affair. It was the Mini of Premier Oaklands that came out on top at the hands of Richard Clarke and Lawrence Davey, just ahead of Class B rivals Chris Bialan and Chris Campbell, SW Motorsports Shaun Woods and Tim Evans. Class C Pole was claimed by the Bye Bye Motorsport pair of James Gunn-Carter and Paul Crosby in the BMW Compact, ahead of Dan Abbitt’s Abbitt Motorsport Peugeot 306 and the Blue Bolt Clio of James Clink in third. Ronan Quinn’s Ronan Quinn Racing Fiesta took Class D Pole, with Ben and Harry Corby in the Bad Racing Honda CRX in second and Box Fast Racings Chris White and Gary Bradbury’s Mini in third.

When the lights went out it was a good start from the Premier Oakland’s Mini which saw them hold onto first into turn one. The fast starting Piranha Porsche held second on the narrow start line from the SW Motorsports Civic of Matthew Higginson and David Buky in third. This is how the Class B cars stayed with the Pirahna Porsche managing to stay in second under pressure from the SW Motorsports Civic for the opening laps. On the fourth lap however the SW Motorsports Civic, managed to get the inside line into Mansfield, following a sideways moment by the Porsche and took second on the road.

The Class C pole sitter managed a good start in the BMW Compact, staying ahead of the Abbitt Motorsport Peugeot 306 who had been caught by the faster Class B cars. This put the 306 in the sights on Blue Bolt Racing’s James Clink who spent the first few laps trading places with Abbitt’s 306. This continued until the Peugeot came off under pressure at Barn corner after a close call with Clink at the Hairpin.

In Class D, Ronan Quinn got away from the line well. There was another good start from the Abbitt/McDonald MX5, but with the narrowness of the start/finish straight it stuck against behind the Bad Racing CRX. This allowed the Box Fast Racing Mini and the sister Abbitt Motorsport MX5 of Abbitt and Mitchell to jump them into turn one.  

As the pit window opened, the safety car was called to aid the recovery of a car on the grass at Hall Bends. This caused the pit lane to become a hive of activity as all the cars pitted early in an attempt to gain, or rather not lose, the advantage.

With the dust settling from the pit window, it was the SW Motorsports Civic that appeared in the lead, the Premier Oaklands Mini in second and the Apple Car Centre Clio in third. As the cars negotiated the back markers, the Apple Car Centre Clio managed to find a way past the Premier Oaklands Mini as the latter got caught up behind a slower car. The Race for the lead was now on! Under mounting pressure from the Apple Car Centre Clio, and the Premier Oaklands Mini, the SW Motorsports Civic finally left the door open and the Clio was through. It was to be for nought though as a 5 second penalty relegated the Clio back, not just behind the Civic but also behind the Premier Oaklands Mini for third on the road and second in Class B. The Priahna Team of Bialan and Campbell brought their Class B Porsche home third in class.

Clink in the Blue Bolt Racing Clio again read the Safety Car period well and appeared significantly in the Class C lead and fourth overall on the road. Second were the Bye Bye Motorsport Pair of Gunn-Carter and Crosby, just ahead of the Tylah Motorsport BMW of Hyde in third in class, who fought it out for second until the Tylah BMW finally found a way past the BMW Compact for second in class. This is how it stayed until the flag, with Blue Bolt Racings Clink in first, Tylah Motorsports Dean Hyde in second and Bye Bye Motorsports Gunn-Carter and Crosby in third.

The Class D lead was now with the Abbitt Motorsport pair, Abbitt and Mitchell, who had managed to jump Ronan Quinn Racing in the pit stops, who in turn was ahead of the CRX of Bad Racing and Box Fast Racing. It was all change in the last few laps as the Ronan Quinn Fiesta had managed to catch the Abbitt MX5 and pass it for the lead with two laps to go. As the flag went down Class D finished, Ronan Quinn Racing, Abbitt Motorsport, Box Fast Racing.


Class B

1. Premier Oaklands Racing - Richard Clarke & Lawrence Davey
2. Apple Car Centre - Jordan Honeybone & Ray Honeybone
3. Piranha - Chris Campbell & Chris Bialan

Class C

1. Blue Bolt Racing - James Clink
2. Tylah Motorsport - Dean Hyde
3. Bye Bye Motorsport - James Gunn-Carter & Paul Crosby

Class D

1. Ronan Quinn Racing - Ronan Quinn
2. Abbitt Motorsport - Ben Abbitt & Jack Mitchell
3. Box Fast Racing - Gary Bradbury & Christian White

Novice Open

1. Team Pug Racing - Martin Davies & Steven Sleath

Stephen Brown Memorial Trophy

SW Motorsports - David Buky & Matthew Higginson

Fastest Lap

SW Motorsports - David Buky & Matthew Higginson - 1:41.702

Contact Details

Tel: 0843 453 3000*
Email: trackdaytrophy@msv.com

*Calls to 0843 453 3000 are charged at 7 pence per minute
plus your phone company's access charge.