Apple win at Oulton

Next event

Live Timing: Not Active

Apple win at Oulton

Apple Car Centre win Round 4 at Oulton Park

Mon 16 July 2018

Oulton Park hosted round four of the 2018 Trackday Trophy season with soaring temperatures and brilliant sunshine welcoming teams and drivers to the picturesque Cheshire circuit.

Martin Amery and Keith Gibbs would claim pole position in their Class B Amery Motorsport MINI Cooper; joined on the front row by Colin Tester and Sam Gay in the G&M Motorsport Honda Civic. The GNB Racing BMW of Gary Burstow, together with the Renault Clio of Jordan and Ray Honeybone, would start from the second row.

The Class C pole was secured by Dan Abbitt in the Abbitt Motorsport Peugeot 306 ahead of the Renault Clio of Griffiths and Rogers and the Tylah Motorsport BMW E30 of Dean Hyde.

Martyn and Rob Adams would prove the quickest of the Class D entries in qualifying, just edging out the Abbitt Motorsport pairing of Ben Abbitt and Richard Cooke and the Ford Fiesta of Ronan Quinn and Wil Arif for the class pole.

A lightning quick start would see the Quinn Fiesta pass the Boreham Motorsport MX5 of Martyn and Rob Adams on the approach to turn one. Nick Jackson in the Moores Motors Ford Fiesta also made good progress from the start gaining four places over the course of the opening lap. A charging Alf Hyde in the Class C Tylah Motorsport Fiesta ST would find himself joined by David Slater in his Renault Clio as both cars made their way forward through the field.

Gary Burstow in the GNB Racing BMW, having started from the second row, would soon find himself leading the race having successfully launched the rear wheel drive BMW off the line and up to the front of the pack! The Amery Motorsport MINI would stay with the BMW of Burstow, with the Apple Car Centre Clio following in close pursuit; the Clio making a move and passing the MINI for second place on lap 8 however the MINI would retake the position just three laps later with the Apple Car Centre Clio opting to pit early together with the GNB Racing BMW.

With the pit-stops complete it was the Class B Apple Car Centre Clio that would emerge as the new race leader with less than half a second separating the Clio from the Burstow BMW! The battle for position would continue throughout the second half of the race until an unfortunate retirement just a few laps from end would see the BMW out of the race. Jordan and Ray Honeybone would claim both the overall and the Class B win ahead of John Lyne in his Tylah Motorsport BMW E36 and the Amery Motorsport pairing of Martin Amery and Keith Gibbs.

A fantastic drive from Dan Abbitt would see him take the Class C win and second overall, just five seconds behind the overall race winner and ahead of fellow Class C competitors Dean Hyde and Alf Hyde in their Tylah Motorsport entries.

Class D pole sitters Martyn and Rob Adams would go on to win their class having successfully made their way past the Ronan Quinn Racing fiesta following the pit-stops. Gary Bradbury and Christian White in the Box Fast Racing would complete the Class D podium.

Thomas Seckel and James Seckel in the TJS Racing Intergra Type R would go on to finish tenth overall whilst also securing the Novice Open class win.


Class B

1. Apple Car Centre - Jordan Honeybone & Ray Honeybone
2. Tylah Motorsport - John Lyne 
3. Amery Motorsport - Martin Amery & Keith Gibbs

Class C

1. Abbitt Motorsport - Dan Abbitt
2. Tylah Motorsport - Dean Hyde
3. Tylah Motorsport - Alf Hyde

Class D

1. Boreham Motorsport - Martyn Adams & Rob Adams
2. Ronan Quinn Racing - Ronan Quinn & Will Arif
3. Box Fast Racing - Gary Bradbury & Christian White

Novice Open

1. TJS Racing - Thomas Seckel & James Seckel

Stephen Brown Memorial Trophy

Abbitt Motorsport - Dan Abbitt

Fastest Lap

G&M Motorsport - Sam Gay & Colin Tester - 1:59.492

Contact Details

Tel: 0843 453 3000*

*Calls to 0843 453 3000 are charged at 7 pence per minute
plus your phone company's access charge.