Honeybones lead the way at Silverstone

Next event

Live Timing: Not Active

Honeybones lead the way at Silverstone

Apple Car Centre take the win a Silverstone in battle to the line

Mon 25 June 2018

The third round of the 2018 Trackday Trophy season took place on Sunday 24th June with a full grid of forty cars ready to take on the fast paced Silverstone National Circuit. With such a large number of cars taking part it would again prove a strategic challenge for teams searching for space on track in order to set their fastest lap.

Matt Shawyer and David Traviss in their Class B MSDT Race Developments Toyota Celica would end the session on pole position and top of the timesheets. Trackday Trophy newcomers Chris Campbell and Chris Bialan in the Piranha Porsche 944 S2, despite finding pace early in the session, would join the MSDT pairing to make an all Class B front row. John Lyne behind the wheel of his Tylah Motorsport BMW left it late setting his quickest time in the session on his 22nd lap, just three laps before the end of qualifying.

The Class C pole went the way of James Gunn-Carter and Paul Crosby, sharing the drive in the Bye Bye Motorsport BMW Compact, ahead of Dean Hyde in the Tylah Motorsport BMW E30 and the G&M Motorsport Honda Civic of Sam Gay and Paul Harvey.

Steven Kelly and Colin Tester proved the quickest of the Class D entries in qualifying followed closely by Ronan Quinn in his Fiesta and the BAD Racing pairing of Harry and Ben Corby.

The quicker of the Novice Open cars in qualifying was the RC Racing Renault Clio of Richard Thompson and Chris Mayhew, qualifying nineteenth overall and ahead of the Peugeot 205 GTi of Team Pug Racing driven by Martin Davies and Steven Sleath.

With track temperatures climbing in the Summer sun the pressure was on for David Traviss in the MSDT Race Developments Celica out on pole position. With the rear wheel drive Piranha Porsche alongside and the Tylah Motorsport BMW on the row behind, a quick and clean move from the line were key to holding position into turn one. Perhaps unsurprisingly both of the rear wheel drive cars were quick off the line with the Porsche taking the lead on the approach to Copse; John Lyne also find himself making ground and up into second in the BMW. An unfortunate spin for the Piranha Porsche would see Lyne take the lead, however Traviss in the MSDT Celica would remain on his bumper looking for a way past – the opportunity presenting itself a few laps later but a problematic gear change saw the gained place lost almost immediately.  

Class D was again producing some great drives and fantastic racing. Colin Tester having qualified the SGR Racing Renault Clio 20th overall would be looking to keep ahead of the Ronan Quinn Fiesta which would start on the row behind. The bulk of the Class D entrants, including the Box Fast Racing MINI Cooper and the Mazda MX5 entries of Abbitt Motorsport, would all start together from the thirteenth row. Despite having less power compared to the classes above them, Class D provided some of the best racing of the day as they all pushed their cars to the limits around the Silverstone National circuit.

An early retirement for Sam Gay in the G&M Motorsports gave James Gunn-Carter a little breathing room however it wasn’t long before fellow Class C competitor Dan Abbitt began closing the gap - the charging Peugeot 306 making the pass on lap 31. Dan Abbitt would maintin control in Class C steering the Abbitt Motorsport Peugeot to the Class win followed across the line by the Bye Bye Motorsport BMW of Gunn-Carter and Paul Crosby with Cameron Mclean completing the Class C Podium.

Ray and Jordan Honeybone in the Class B Apple Car Centre Clio, having successfully made their way to the front of the pack, would reach the chequered flag first – clinching both the overall race and Class B win! John Lyne joining them on the podium crossing the line second ahead of pole sitters Shawyer and Traviss.

The Class D race would go right down to the wire with Ronan Quinn just edging ahead of the BAD Racing Honda to secure the Class win – just four tenths of a second separating the two. Third in Class D would go to Gary Bradbury and Chris White in the Box Fast Racing MINI.

Chris Mayhew and Richard Thompson would convert their Novice Open class pole into a Class win ahead of Team Pug Racing Steven Sleath and Martin Davies


Class B

1. Apple Car Centre - Jordan Honeybone & Ray Honeybone
2. Tylah Motorsport - John Lyne 
3. MSDT Race Developments - Matt Shawyer & David Traviss

Class C

1. Abbitt Motorsport - Dan Abbitt
2. Bye Bye Motorsport - Paul Crosby & James Gunn-Carter
3. CM Racing - Cameron McLean

Class D

1. Ronan Quinn Racing - Ronan Quinn
2. BAD Racing - Ben Corby & Harry Corby
3. Box Fast Racing - Gary Bradbury & Christian White

Novice Open

1. RC Racing - Chris Mayhew & Richard Thompson
2. Team Pug Racing - Martin Davies & Steven Sleath

Stephen Brown Memorial Trophy

OuterLine Racing - Andrew Green & Matthew O'Keeffe

Fastest Lap

MSDT Race Developments - Matt Shawyer & David Traviss - 1:07.859

Contact Details

Tel: 0843 453 3000*
Email: trackdaytrophy@msv.com

*Calls to 0843 453 3000 are charged at 7 pence per minute
plus your phone company's access charge.