MSDT Win at Brands Hatch


The Class C Celica takes the win at the Lotus Festival

Qualifying was a technical session with the cars trying not to trip over each other and get their fast lap in clear running on the short Brands Hatch Indy circuit. Following penalties for the front running MINIs of Team Oaklands and SRR Motorsport, it was the MSDT Celica who took pole from Class C ahead of the Class B leading car of Back on Track Motorsport in second. The Class D pole was claimed by the Ford Fiesta of Ronan Quinn Racing.

As the lights went out it was a typically fast start by the Class B leading VX220 of Mark Penny from second on the grid. The Civic of Finsport pair Richard Clarke and Mark Steward managed to jump the Class C Pole sitter as well to take second as the pack approached Paddock Hill Bend.

The Class C lead stayed with the MSDT Celica, but second in class was changing constantly. Abbitt Motorsports 306, the Lionheart 306 and Boreham Motorsports MX5 were all in second in Class C at one point during the opening few laps!

In Class D it was the class pole sitter of Abbitt Motorsport pair, Ben Abbitt and Jack Mitchell, who lost out into Paddock, allowing the Fiesta of Ronan Quinn past on the inside through the traffic into turn one. Caught in the first lap fight it was the MX5 of Abbitt motorsport who found themselves battling the Class C vehicles while Class D rival Ronan Quinn was able to gap the battling pack as they slowed each other up through the back of the circuit.

With the Battle at the front heating up, it was the Civic of Finsport who managed to find a way past the VX220 of Mark Penny to take the class, and race lead.

The Class C battle was still raging. Lionheart Racing was now able to keep a hold of the spot, with the Abbitt Motorsport car just behind. Ray Worley’s MX5 always just behind the pair of Peugeots.

In Class D the battle was closing in as the class leader Ronan Quinn in the Fiesta was slowly being drawn in by Abbitt Motorsport’s MX5, who were bringing along the Spia Leggaro pair or Alex and Gavin Hearnden and the Supatune Puma of Phill Burden.

With a stricken BMW in the gravel at turn one the Safety Car was scrambled. This closed the gap at the front with the gap built by the Finsport Civic and chasing Back on Track Motorsport VX220 now back to nothing.

As the Safety car pulled back into the pits it was the Finsport Civic who stole the march on the pack, able to pull a five second gap. Back on Track’s Mark Penny now found himself under big pressure from the BMW of Tylah’s Dean Hyde, who managed to find a way past to start chasing down the leading Civic into the pit stop window.

With the leading Class B cars able to jump the MSDT Celica just after the re-start, the Peugeots of Lionheart and Abbitt Motorsport were now within two seconds of the Class Leading car, having swapped places and now with the Abbitt Motorsport 306 holding onto the second spot in class! With the pit stop window looming the MSDT Celica wasn’t able to gap the pack and entered the pit’s just three seconds ahead. The Peugeots opted to stay out and pit later in the window, which would prove pivotal as many of the cars pitted later allowing the class leading Celica some clear laps in during the pit stop window.

In Class D it was the MX5 of Abbitt motorsport who blinked first, with an early stop from second in class in an attempt to close the gap to class leader Ronan Quinn. This was a move replicated be the Spia Leggaro pair in the Alfa Romeo.

Following the Pit Stop Window, It was Mark Penny who found himself back in the lead, followed closely by the Class C leaders MSDT Race Developments and the Finsport Civic. Dean Hyde managed to jump the Civic soon after for second in Class B. The battle wasn’t over however, as an inspired drive from the Team Oaklands MINI of Lawrence Davey and Toby Hotston allowed them to close up in the latter stages and jump the Tylah Motorsport Golf of John Lyne to take third in Class B with three laps to go, from 33rd on the grid!

Class C and the race were won by the MSDT Race Developments Celica, comfortably ahead of the returning Abbitt motorsport Peugeot 306 of Dan Abbitt. The Lionheart 306 of Jonathan Candler and Philip Waterman came home third in class, just ahead of the MX5 of Ray Worley and Alex Miller in fourth and fifth respectively.  

Class D battle was now heating up as the MX5 Abbitt Motorsport was now within a second of the Ronan Quinn Fiesta. The pair traded lap times for the latter half of the race, but a slow lap in traffic brought the MX5 right back onto the bumper of Ronan Quinn’s Fiesta and the Abbitt Motorsport car was able to strike with four laps of the race left to take the Class Win ahead of the Quinn Fiesta and the Spia Leggaro Alfa in third.



Class B

1. Back on Track Motorsport - Mark Penny
2. Tylah Motorsport - Dean Hyde
3. Team Oaklands - Lawrence Davey / Toby Hotston

Class C

1. MSDT Race Developments - Matt Shawyer / David Traviss
2. Abbitt Motorsport - Dan Abbitt
3. Lionheart Racing - Philip Waterman / Jonathan Candler

Class D

1. Abbitt Motorsport - Ben Abbitt / Jack Mitchell
2. Ronan Quinn Racing - Ronan Quinn
3. Spia Leggaro Racing - Alex Hearnden / Gavin Hearnden


Fastest Lap

SRR Motorsport - MINI Cooper S - 55.132

Stephen Brown Memorial Trophy

Boreham Motorsport - Jude Worley



Contact Details

Tel: 0843 453 3000*

*Calls to 0843 453 3000 are charged at 7 pence per minute
plus your phone company's access charge.