2020 Calendar

Since its debut in 2010, the popular Trackday Trophy (TDT) Series has firmly established itself as the best place for enthusiastic track day drivers and novice racing drivers to start their racing career!

  • 2020 Calendar

2020 Calendar

Race Report

Jonathan Candler took victory at Snetterton after a long battle with Class C rival Alex Boam. Pit stop drama essentially ended Boam’s challenge for the class win as Candler made the most of the situation and stretched his legs in the lead. Third in Class C was Gary Littlewood with a strong showing in the yellow number 57 Fiesta, up from fifth in class on the grid. Pole sitters Charlie Palk and Adrian Pottinger were unable to capitalize on their position as they retired just before the thirty-minute mark.  

With the Class C cars up front, the Class B vehicles were struggling to put their power down. Pace setters in qualifying Outerline Racing, were one of the cars struggling as they lost out to finish towards the back of the grid after forty-five minutes, giving the class B win to Stephen Macdonald in the Honda Civic Type R.

A returning Alex Miller, joined this round by John Langridge, took a clean sweep home with class pole, class win and class fastest lap in the Boreham Motorsport MX5. Series regulars in the MR2, Ben Cater and Malcolm Scott held second in class, with Sam Daffin making his debut in Trackday Trophy in the DafSport Fiesta rounding out the top three to take a well-earned podium on the first time of asking.

Race Report

John Cooper wins Trackday Trophy at Silverstone Grand Prix

A solid effort from John Cooper in the Ford Fiesta ST saw him climb from fifth in Class qualifying to take the win, in challenging conditions at Silverstone. Seemingly coming with Cooper through the field was the team of Harding and Slater in the freshly finished Honda Civic Type R, just seven days removed from their difficult Oulton Park round, as they finished second in class, up from fourth in qualifying. Third in class and rounding out the Class podium was Matt Nossiter in the BMW 3 series.

Finding pace in the wet weather was crucial, and none did this better than David Mennie in the BMW, up from fourth to take a convincing class win, ahead of Johansson and Thompson in the Clio second in class. The duo of Roan and Richard Lundy took third in class in their Celica, ahead of the group for fourth.

Class D was won by Ben Cater in the MR2, notably without team mate Malcolm Scott this weekend, up from fourth on the class grid in the difficult conditions. The series returnees Abbitt and Mitchell in the MX5 matched the efforts of Cater to take second up from fifth on the class grid, just ahead of regulars Jack Youhill, third and the duo of Andrews and Goldthorpe who took a strong fourth.

Race Report

Harding and Slater took a hard fought win in changeable conditions at Snetterton. The pair left it late to take the lead, only claiming the top spot from race long leader and eventual Class C runner up Jonathan Candler with three laps to go. Candler, who had claimed pole, in his Class C Peugeot, had to settle for second in class, third overall, following a last lap move from Dan Abbitt to take the Class C win. Third place in Class C went to the Toyota Celica of Stewart Donovan.

With the overall and Class B win going to Harding and Slater, second place was claimed by Matt Nossiter in the BMW, who despite being on the front row of the grid, Nossiter dropped down through the order during the pit stop window.

Class D was won by Jamie Ward in the Fiesta, from pole in class. Second place went to the team of Abbitt and Cochrane in the MX5 up from fifth on the grid. Clive Goldthorpe in the Fiesta rounded out the podium with a strong third place.

Contact Details
Tel: 0843 453 3000*
Email: trackdaytrophy@msv.com

*Calls to 0843 453 3000 are charged at 7 pence per minute plus your phone company's access charge.