Donington Park

Donington Park

Mon 14 August 2017

Qualifying was a close affair at the top with the first four on the grid covered by less than half a second, although it was the Team Trickle pair who claimed the top spot in the BMW. This fete was almost mirrored by the Class C top three who made it to the end of the session separated by 8 tenths; with the Celica’s of MSDT only just edging out the Clio of House and Tate. Class D was just as close with Ronan Quinn gapping the Abbitt Motor by just six tenths albeit with two cars between them. Tom Murphy in the sole Class E car managed a respectable 31/38.

When the lights went out at the start it was the Team Oaklands Mini who managed to jump the Team Trickle BMW into Redgate, shutting the door on the BMW and almost allowing the Finsport Civic through into second. The Tylah Motorsport Golf and SRR MINI battling just behind.

HT Racing jumped the Celica of Class C rival MSDT, but the door was open into turn one and Ray Worley from Boreham Motorsport needed no invitation to take the Class C lead.

In Class D, the class pole sitter got off to a good start. The MX5 of Abbitt Motorsport picked up wheel spin and allowed the Puma of Supatune Motorsport and the Box Fast Racing Fiesta into second and third in class respectively before Redgate.

As the leaders rounded the Starkeys Straight the Safety car was deployed to collect the stricken Civic on Ginger Panda Racing, who had become acquainted with the Redgate gravel trap.

At the re-start it was the Team Oaklands Mini who made the jump, just before Roberts. The team trickle BMW taking the Finsport Civic along with it for second. While the remaining pack followed in formation. The BMW found a way past the MIN however a lap later,and while the Oaklands MINI and the Finsport Civic fought for second the BMW managed to escape up the road gapping the pair by just over four seconds with the pit window approaching.

The Class C Battle was heating up, and after a good stint by the MX5 keeping the Class C Pack behind, a lock up under pressure to attack and defend led Boreham Motorsports Worley to lock up into Roberts allowing the HT Racing Clio into the Class Lead, they were followed through by Blue Bolt Racing’s James Clink, for second.  Ray held on for third under pressure from the Lionheart Racing 306 as the pit window approached.

It was the Supatune Puma of Waltenspul and Tester who took the race to the leading Class D car of Ronan Quinn in the early stages of the race. The pair traded lap times for most of the early part of the race, but it was Quinn who took the advantage as the Supatune Puma found itself surrounded by the Class C mid-pack. Abbitt Motorsport were chasing down Box Fast Racing for third in class.

Just as the pit stop window opened, the safety car was deployed. This caught the leaders on the start finish straight. While it was too late for the lead pack, the eagle eyed HT Racing and Blue Bolt Racing dove in the pits from 11th and 12th respectively. The Class E Puma of Tom Murphy and the BMW of Wilmington Rensport were the only others to make the stop. This proved pivotal as following pack rounded the circuit in two and a half minutes allowing the two Class C cars to exit the pits still on the lead lap.

With the safety car still out, the majority of the field moved for the pit lane, including the leaders in the Team Trickle BMW, Oaklands MINI and Finsport Civic, from first second and third.

Opting to stay out, it was now Stephen Kelly in the StorageMart Racing Clio in the temporary lead of the race, from second place  Blue Bolt racings James Clink, and HT Racing in third.

Following the stops it was the Clio of Clink that managed the early traffic the best pulling a gap over the HT Racing Clio in second. This was a lead that the HT Clio was intent on closing, and started catching Clink by half a second a lap.

The SRR Mini also emerged from the pit stop window with good pace, climbing from fifth in Class B up to second in Class by lap 19. Helped in part by the Finsport Civic and Tylah Motorsport Golf fighting between themselves.

 Also closing on the leading pair was the Class B (and early leaders) Team Trickle, who were catching the Clio’s by over a second a lap, and dragging the SRR Mini of Keith Issatt along with them. 

HT Racing was closing on the leading Clio of Blue Bolt’s James Clink, and having got the onto the bumper of the leading car, a backmarker and the red flag was enough to force them to hold formation and give Clink the win and House/Tate a well earned second place.

Just behind the chasing BMW of Nossiter and Hewson had to settle for third overall but took the Class B win, followed by Keith Issatt in the MINI and Clarke/Steward in the Honda civic, second and third in class respectively.

Class D was dominated by Ronan Quinn in the Fiesta who took a convincing win, and drove the Class D winning car into the top ten, ahead of the MX5 of Abbitt Motorsport and the Supatune Puma. The Sister Class E Supatune Puma came home first in class and 24th overall.


Class B

1. Team Trickle - Steve Hewson / Matt Nossiter
2. SRR Motorsport - Keith Issatt
3. Finsport - Mark Steward / Richard Clarke

Class C

1. Bolt Blue Racing - James Clink
2. HT Racing - Neil House / Andy Tate
3. Bye Bye Motorsport - James Gunn-Carter / David Mennie

Class D

1. Ronan Quinn Racing - Ronan Quinn
2. Abbitt Motorsport - Ben Abbitt / Cooke
3. Supatune Motorsport - Waltenspul / Colin Tester

Class E

1. Supatune Motorsport - Tom Murphy 

Fastest Lap

SRR Motorsport - MINI Cooper S - 1:22.11

Stephen Brown Memorial Trophy

Ronan Quinn Racing - Ronan Quinn

For the Round 5 Gallery Click HERE

For the official TSL Classification Click HERE


You can register to receive updates about the series Click Here

However, in order to compete in the Trackday Trophy, you must register for the series.


All entries must comply with the series regulations.

For more information on the regulations Click Here.


Our advice is free so if you have any questions or problems please feel free to contact us. Our opening hours are Monday to Friday 8.30am - 6pm.

0843 453 3000*

For more information on upcoming trackdays and driver training visit the MSV Trackdays website at





Tel: 0843 453 3000*

*Calls to 0843 453 3000 are charged at 7 pence per minute plus your phone company's access charge.