Snetterton 200

Snetterton 200

Sat 13 May 2017

Qualifying for round two of Trackday Trophy provided an exciting 30 minute shoot-out with lap times tumbling throughout the session.

Richard Clarke and Mark Steward were again quickly up to speed in the Class B Finsport Honda Civic, exploiting gaps in the traffic to produce a number of fast laps and working their way to the top of the time sheets by the midpoint of the session. Unable to improve on their time, a last minute flying lap by Colin Tester would see the Civic demoted to second and the Class B Supatune Motorsport Toyota MR2 starting from pole.

James Gunn-Carter and David Mennie were the quickest of the Class C entries in the Bye Bye Motorsport BMW Compact securing the class pole and 6th overall. Surrounded by Class B cars on the grid they’d need a clean start to keep ahead of Matt Shawyer and David Traviss in the Class C MSDT Race Developments Toyota Celica who qualified 9th.

The Class D pairing of Liam Barnett and Ryan Lilleywhite completing the grid in the Triple L Motorsport Mazda MX5.

Starting from pole, Colin Tester in the Supatune Motorsport MR2 was quick off the line, reaching turn one comfortably ahead of the Finsport Civic who found themselves under pressure from second row starter Gary Burstow in the GNB Racing BMW. The traction offered by the rear wheel drive platforms clearly visible as David Mennie in the Class C Bye Bye Motorsport BMW looked set to pass the Class B Big Bear Motorsport Seat Ibiza of Dylan Brychta despite starting a row behind on the grid – Brychta just holding on to stay ahead of the BMW into turn one but unable to halt the progress of John Lyne in the Class B Tylah Motorsport VW Golf. Unfortunately the Tylah Motorsport car would retire before the end of the opening lap, with a failed hub.

An unfortunate turn one spin saw the Finsport Civic fall to the back of the field. Both drivers would have their work cut out for them if they wanted to rejoin the battle at the front.

Further down the field, Alf Hyde in another of the Tylah Motorsport entries was intent on making up spaces following a problematic qualifying session that saw him starting from 17th - the Fiesta gaining 10 places over the course of the opening lap! A second Ford performing well was the Class B Apple Car Centre Fiesta of Ray Honeybone, who was busy working his way up from 10th on the grid to 5th.

Close battles continued throughout the field as the race edged towards the mandatory pit-stop window with Colin Tester still leading from fellow Class B drivers Burstow and Brychta. Bye Bye Motorsport maintaining a solid fourth position and the Class C lead.

Opting to pit late and maximise the time on circuit with less traffic, the Ford Fiesta of Honeybone left it until the very last possible moment to enter the pitlane – the pit window closed board displayed moments later. With the majority of pit-stops and driver changes completed successfully, a short stop by the Twisted Sister Racing Celica left the team with no choice but to accept a drive through penalty.

Having lead from the start, it was a comfortable lights to flag victory for Colin Tester in the Class B Supatune Motorsport MR2, Gary Burstow although closing was unable to catch the race winner and would have to settle for second overall and second in class. Following a turn one spin on the opening lap it was the Finsport Civic Type R that surprised many, a determined comeback drive by the Trackday Trophy new-comers Richard Clarke and Mark Steward saw them complete the Class B podium and take third overall!

James Gunn-Carter and David Mennie would go one better than there 2nd place result at Cadwell Park; this time round securing the Class C win for Bye Bye Motorsport and 5th overall. Matt Shawyer and David Traviss in the MSDT Race Developments Toyota Celica could celebrate crossing the line 8th overall while securing 2nd in Class C. Jonathan Howes and Kevin Stirling in the Team Norfolk Ford Fiesta also finished just inside the top ten claiming 3rd in class.

The Class D win going to Liam Barnett and Ryan Lilleywhite in the Triple L Racing Mazda MX5.  



Class B

1. Supatune Motorsport - Colin Tester
2. GNB Racing - Gary Burstow
3. Finsport - Richard Clarke / Mark Steward

Class C

1. Bye Bye Motorsport - James Gunn-Carter / David Mennie
2. MSDT Race Developments - Matt Shawyer / David Traviss
3. Team Norfolk - Jonathan Howes / Kevin Stirling

Class D

1. Triple L Motorsport - Liam Barnett / Ryan Lilleywhite

Fastest Lap

Finsport - Honda Civic Type R - 1:25.57

Stephen Brown Memorial Trophy

Finsport - Richard Clarke / Mark Steward


For the Round 2 Gallery Click HERE

For the official TSL Classification Click HERE


You can register to receive updates about the series Click Here

However, in order to compete in the Trackday Trophy, you must register for the series.


All entries must comply with the series regulations.

For more information on the regulations Click Here.


Our advice is free so if you have any questions or problems please feel free to contact us. Our opening hours are Monday to Friday 8.30am - 6pm.

0843 453 3000

For more information on upcoming trackdays and driver training visit the MSV Trackdays website at