Cadwell Park

Cadwell Park

Sat 22 April 2017

Following preivous good form at the Lincolnshire circuit; Gary Burstow was again the pace man securing a third consecutive Trackday Trophy pole position at Cadwell Park in the Class B GNB Racing BMW.

Trackday Trophy new-comers Richard Clarke and Mark Steward, in the Class B Finsport Honda Civic Type R were quick off the mark, producing a flying lap early in the session which had them placed firmly on pole until a late charge by Gary Burstow demoted them to second on the grid, the cars separated by just a tenth of a second!

Ray Worley was the quickest of the Class C entrants in the Boreham Motorsport Mazda MX5; a strong qualifying time would see him starting third on the second row of the grid alongside the Class B MINI JCW of Smith and Hotston. Cameron Mclean, CM Racing, would be looking for a quick start from row 3 having qualified 2 seconds off the pace of fellow Class C competitors Boreham Motorsport.

Spia Leggero Motorsport, with the father and son pairing of Gavin and Alex Hearnden secured the Class D pole and would start the race from tenth on the grid having left it until their last lap of the session to set their quickest time. The second of the Class D entries, Ryan Lilleywhite and Chris Loeber in the Triple L Motorsport Mazda MX5, finished the session fifteenth quickest.

Making the most of the race start would be crucial as the entire filed raced towards turn one Coppice and up into the right hander of Charlies. James Gunn-Carter in the rear wheel Bye Bye Motorsport BMW was quick off the line passing the CM Racing Clio of Cameron McLean who struggled for traction, the BMW darting for the gap between the Renault and the Class B Tylah Motorsport Golf of John Lyne. Although successfully passing the Clio, Gunn Carter would have to follow the Golf into turn 1. Alf Hyde behind the wheel of his Fiesta, the second of three Tylah Motorsport entries, also made for the gap passing the CM Racing Clio on his way.

Pole-sitter Burstow would be the first to turn one however the Finsport Civic and Team Oaklands Mini were closing quickly. The defence was short lived as both Mark Steward in the Civic and Toby Hotston in the Mini had found their way past by the exit of Park - the trio of Class B Cars joined by Worley in the Class C Boreham Motorsport MX5, the quartet making a break from the main field of cars.

Further down the field, an opening lap incident at Hall Bends saw the Alfa Romeo of Class D leaders Spia Leggero Motorsport making contact with the barrier. Cameron Mclean despite recovering time from the start would also retire,  Mclean keeping the car under control through Hall Bends as an oil cooler pipe separated on Lap 9. Problems in Class D continued as the Triple L Motorsport Mazda would also retire, together with the Class B Tylah Motorsport Golf of John Lyne, on lap 13.

The pit window opened with the Finsport Civic of Clarke and Steward leading the Oaklands Mini of Smith and Hotston and the GNB Racing BMW in close pursuit. However a tactical early pit-stop saw the Mini rejoin and take the race lead as the others came in for their scheduled stops.

Gary Burstow, although a few places down in sixth following the stops began working his way back up the order, navigating a number of back markers as he closed the gap with the race leaders. The Team Oaklands Mini held out, but Burstow was on a charge and closing the gap, making the vital pass for the race lead on lap 21 needing only to hold on for a further 3 laps to secure the overall race and Class B win! The Team Oaklands pairing of Smith and Hotston would have to settle for the Class B second ahead of Finsports’ Clarke and Steward in third.

A great race by Ray Worley secured the Class C victory and an impressive second overall. James Gunn-Carter and Richard Mennie could celebrate taking home the Class C second, finishing fourth overall in the final standings. Kelly Brabbin in the Twisted Sister Racing Toyota Celica completed the Class C podium.



Class B

1. GNB Racing - Gary Burstow
2. Team Oaklands -  Toby Hotston / Chris Smith
3. Finsport - Richard Clarke / Mark Steward

Class C

1. Boreham Motorsport - Ray Worley
2. Bye Bye Motorsport - James Gunn-Carter / David Mennie
3. Twisted Sister Racing - Kelly Brabbin

Fastest Lap

Finsport - Honda Civic Type R - 1:43.16

Stephen Brown Memorial Trophy

Speed Merchants - Malcolm Shaw / Andrew Shaw


For the Round 1 Gallery Click HERE

For the official TSL Classification Click HERE


You can register to receive updates about the series Click Here

However, in order to compete in the Trackday Trophy, you must register for the series.


All entries must comply with the series regulations.

For more information on the regulations Click Here.


Our advice is free so if you have any questions or problems please feel free to contact us. Our opening hours are Monday to Friday 8.30am - 6pm.

0843 453 3000

For more information on upcoming trackdays and driver training visit the MSV Trackdays website at